Skip to main content
Freund_innen und Fördernde

Friends & Supporters

The Heidelberg University of Jewish Studies (HfJS) would like to thank its longstanding friends and sponsors who have accompanied and supported the university from many different directions and brought new ideas to the table.

Logo Freundeskreis der HfJS

The Circle of Friends promotesresearch and teaching at the HfJS and supports the financing of teaching assignments or the purchase of urgently needed equipment or literature for the university. It also offers scholarships for talented students.

The Erika & Ferdinand Piplack-Gabelmann Foundationsupports various events and projects of the HfJS, particularly in the context of academic education and knowledge transfer as well as the promotion of mutual understanding between the Jewish and non-Jewish population in Germany.

The non-profit Szloma Albam Foundation has been promoting education and training, science and research as well as art and culture in a Jewish context since 1999. It is a tax-privileged foundation under private law based in Berlin, which is exclusively active in a promotional capacity.

The Lilli and Michael Sommerfreund Foundation

Together with his wife Lilli Sommerfreund, who passed away in 2013, Michael Sommerfreund established the Lilli and Michael Sommerfreund Foundation. The funds of this foundation have so far been used to support a three-year doctoral scholarship at the HfJS, trialogue work for teacher training and other measures to support young talent in the field of Jewish Studies. It also finances the annual Eugen Täubler Lecture and supports the Heidelberg University Lectures. In the summer semester of 2018, the Lilli and Michael Sommerfreund Foundation sponsored a visiting professorship for Jewish cultures.

The Heidelberg University of Jewish Studies awards honorary senators in accordance with its constitution and following a unanimous decision by the HfJS Senate. The awards are presented to longstanding supporters of the university who have supported and accompanied the HfJS in very different ways and to whom the university wishes to convey a small token of gratitude with this award.

Our honorary senators:

  • Prof. Dr. h.c. mult Berthold Beitz
    (passed away on July 30, 2013)
  • Prof. Dr. Hubert Burda
  • Dr. h. c. Charlotte Knobloch
  • Dr. h. c. Manfred Lautenschläger
  • Hans-Jürgen Müller-Arens
  • Michael Sommerfreund
    (deceased in July 2017)
  • Dr. h. c. Klaus Tschira
    (deceased on March 31, 2015)

In accordance with its doctoral regulations , the Heidelberg University of Jewish Studies awards the degree of Doctor of Philosophy honoris causa (Dr. phil. h.c.) for special academic achievements. The degree of Dr. phil. h.c. is conferred by the presentation of a certificate signed by the Rector.

Our honorary doctors

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Peter Hommelhoff
  • Prof. Dr. W. Michael Blumenthal